Openwrt: Burning the bridge part II

Once I disabled the annoying bridging I ran across a problem. My wireless devices couldn’t get internet access. I have very little experience with iptables but I was able to get enough out of reading the default firewall rules that I could enable NAT for the wireless interface. I added the following to /etc/firewall.user:

WIFI=$(nvram get wifi_ifname)
iptables -A FORWARD -i $WIFI -o $WAN -j ACCEPT

And now I have everything I wanted. My NFS stuff is protected from the wireless devices. My next project will be to setup ipsec stuff so that authenticated wireless devices will have nfs access.

This entry was posted in Geek. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

