Docbook XML

Tonight I tried to figure out how I might be able to write some nice Docbook documentation for this site. The goal is to have a way that I can integrate the docbook content into my wordpress site. I spent some time looking for something that already does this and my search turned up empty. My next step was to look into available stylesheets for Docbook. A quick search using apt revealed some stylesheets. I installed them and attempted to use them using the docbook2* scripts that I’m used to. This proved to be a failure. I then found xmlto via apt (you just have to love apt-cache search). This was the tool I was looking for. This allowed me to use the stylesheets that I installed.

// This produced output using the system default stylesheet
$ xmlto -o html xhtml mydocbook.xml
// And this used the stylesheet that I had installed
$ xmlto -o html  -x /usr/share/xml/docbook/stylesheet/nwalsh/xhtml/docbook.xsl html mydocbook.xml

I guess the next thing for me to do is to learn to write my own stylesheet so that the output integrates into wordpress.

This entry was posted in Geek, Site, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

