Working around mytharchive issues

Mytharchive is written to assume that the backend and the frontend machine are the same. To work around this I do the following:

  1. Use a frontend to select recordings for export. I specify the output to be an iso image.
  2. Allow mytharchive to fail. Then copy /tmp/config/mydata.xml to the backend machine
  3. Install mythfrontend on the backend machine (grrrrrrr I HATE THIS but it is necessary because mythreplex is required and found in the frontend package)
  4. On the backend machine modify /usr/share/mythtv/mytharchive/scripts/mythburn.py at line 134 by hardcoding the hostname of my frontend machine so that the configuration options are correct. Note that you will still have to insert a RecordFilePrefix entry into the ‘settings’ table of the ‘mythconverg’ database for the frontend host. Mythburn.py uses this setting to find the recording files.
  5. On the backend machine create $MA_TMP/logs and $MA_TMP/work where $MA_TMP is the directory that you configured as thetemp directory for mytharchive in the mytharchive setup options.
  6. On the backend machine, as the mythtv user, run /usr/share/mythtv/mytharchive/scripts/mythburn.pl using the mydata.xml file that was created in /tmp/config on the frontend machine

After doing all of that you should have an iso image in /tmp/work/mythburn.iso on the backend machine. I then burn that to DVD over NFS.

This entry was posted in Geek, MythTV, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working around mytharchive issues

  1. dmholt says:

    I had a similar problem, but in the end I just NFS mounted the relevant filesystem on the backend that contains the mythtv recordings etc to be available on my frontend machine. If you’re using NFS anyway, that may work for you. It certainly works for me, and I don’t have to copy any files about when making a DVD.

  2. greg says:

    When I was working through this problem I tried what you had tried but it didn’t work for me. The reason is that mytharchive calls (or can call) mythtranscode. Mythtranscode exists only on my backend machine. If I end up using mytharchive much more in the future I’ll probably just copy mythtranscode to my frontend.

Leave a Reply

