MythTV crash uncovered

Last night I upgraded my custom built 2.6.17 kernel to the Debian built 2.6.18 kernel.  I had to do this because I run XFS and I was getting directory corruption.  This is a known bug in 2.6.17 that I covered in a previous post.

The most critical role of my file server is that of a MythTV backend.  I have a PC HDTV-3000 card and a PVR-150 card for DTV and analog tuners.  After repairing my corrupted file systems and installing the Debian provided ivtv-modules-2.6.18 package I found that I couldn’t tune my analog stations anymore.   In fact I found that the backend was crashing whenever I tried to view the tuner status in the information section from any frontend in the house.  It turns out the problem was that my drivers are loading in a different order now.  My PVR 150 card used to be /dev/video0 but has become /dev/video1 (or vice-versa).  A quick change in mythtv-setup fixed the problem and now I’m off and running again.

I was very happy to discover that Debian provides ivtv binary packages now.  I do not have to build any software for my backend machine now!  For the frontend I still have to build lirc-modules but I can live with.

I’ve always been annoyed that mythtv-setup is a GUI application.  It’s a tool to configure the backend.  The backend doesn’t need a GUI.  I would really prefer to edit a text file.  Oh well, you can’t have everything (for free!).

This entry was posted in Geek, MythTV. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MythTV crash uncovered

  1. Steve says:

    Are you using udev for your devices yet? If you are you can control what gets loaded using /dev/udev/rules.d to determine what driver gets what device.

  2. greg says:

    I do not appear to be running udev yet. I’ll keep this in mind if I ever end up running udev.

Leave a Reply

